top of page

All You Have To Do Is Ask

I recently got myself into a bit of a pickle. As is normal for me, I believed I could do more than I actually could. I said yes to more things than I ought to, and I found myself behind on things that I had agreed to do. It was a mess. Deadlines were missed, I wasn’t sleeping, and my kids were all but being ignored. It wasn’t a pretty sight. In the end, I realized I needed help. And I reached out to a couple of friends and asked for help.

“Can you help with carpool today?” “Can one of my kids come over to play at your house this afternoon?”

“Will you take my youngest kids to the pool this afternoon?”

And do you know what each person said? Yes. What a wonderful, kind and generous answer. And not once was I made to feel badly about asking.

When you enter the adoption journey, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed. It's easy to feel you've bitten off more than you can chew.

So much paperwork…

So many new things to learn…

So much to explain to others…

So much to read and understand about adoption…

There are unknowns.

Birth mothers….

Birth fathers…

Traveling to a different state or even a different country…

But you don’t have to do this on your own. There are people who have walked this journey before you. There are men and women who long to help, who want to be asked questions, who want to see you succeed in your adoption journey. Our support groups are a great way to ask for help and find community. Our consulting services are another great way to get the help and support you need.

Asking may feel like the hard thing to do. But it’s really not that hard. And the sweet answer of “yes” might just be the best thing you’ve heard in a long. Just ask!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page